Kevin Rhodes (cormac) wrote,
Kevin Rhodes
cormac

Everyone's doing it...

SCA meme.


GENERAL SCA

- Been an officer? (Local, Regional, Kingdom, Society?) Local and Kingdom

- Do you have an SCA name? Cormac Mór

- Do you have an SCA persona? Yes. Early 14c. Irish-born mendicant in Scotland..

-Changed persona because of different garb? No.

- Been adopted by a person, household or clan? Quite a few. Never officially, though, and usually I only found out about it afterwards.

- Had a name and/or device accepted by the SCA College of Arms? Yes. Name, alternate name, household name, two devices and four badges (one released, one transferred)

- Had a name and/or device rejected by the SCA College of Arms? Yup.

- Been taken or taken an apprentice, protege or squire? Never.

- Have rank higher than an Award of Arms. Yup. I'm a grant-bearing Honourable Lord.



EVENTS

- Been an Event Steward/Autocrat? Yes.

- Kingdom level or local level? Yes.

- Cooked an Event? Never had a pan big enough to cook an entire event.

- Taught a class at an event? Oh yes.

- Run an activity at an event? That too.



FIGHTING/MARTIAL ARTS

- Ever fought at an event? Yes. Heavies, rapier and (before it was banned) lights aka shinai.

- Ever fought at Pennsic or another War? Yes, all three forms previously mentioned. Not at Pennsic though.

- Done a different martial art at an event? Does Icelandic Bear-pit wrestling count? Archery?

- Ever run a martial activity at an event? Yes.

- Ever fought in a Crown Tourney? Not yet.

- Won a tourney or contest at an event? Contest, yes. But not a martial one. Unless you count the two times I fought myself in Rapier at Wintermist events.

- Made your own armor? Yes.

- Made your own weapons? Yes.

- Been a squire? No

- Have rank as an archer? No.

- Have rank as a fencer? No.

- Created a siege weapon? Not for combat.



ARTS & SCIENCES

- Have you ever entered an A&S contest? Yes

- Have you ever won an A&S contest? No

- Ever run an A&S contest? No

- Ever judge/critique items in an A&S contest? Yes, for the first time at Pentathlon this year!.

- Ever Wordsmithed a scroll? Yes.

- Illuminated a scroll? No

- Calligraphy for a scroll? No

- Made your own paper? No

- Made a book? Yes.

- Make someone's order medallion? No

- Write someone in for an award? Oh yes.



- Have you ever sewn your own garb? I sewed most of my garb.

- Sewn Garb for others? Yes.

- Ever been sewing on the way to an event? Yes.

- Ever finished an outfit before an event? Yes. I find it more useful to finish before an event rather than after.

- Researched and completed an outfit from said research? Yes, my habit.

- Ever taught a class on sewing? No.

- Finished a hat? Yes.



- Do you know how to spin? Yes.

- Ever woven your own fabric? Yes.

- Do you know how to knit? No.

- Do you know how to crochet? No.

- Have you ever dyed your own yarn or fabric? Yes.

- Embroidered a garment? Yes.

- Beaded a garment? Yes, but not for SCA.



- Ever entertained at a feast? Yes.

- Ever ran a bardic circle? No.

- Ever performed in a bardic circle? Yes.

- Had songs requested from you at such? No.

- Ever competed in a formal bardic? Yes.

- Know any period songs? Yes.

- Been banned from a bardic circle for a song/performance, or have a piece you perform banned/controlled? No.



COURT IN THE SCA

- Ran a court as Royalty (King/Queen or Baron/Baroness)? No.

- Ran a court as Herald? A few...

- Heralded at Court? Yes.

- Been an Attendant, Guard or Champion at court? Yes.

- Been called to court to receive an award, if so which one/s? Yes. AoA, Dolphin, GoA, Crescent, Athena, Gillyflower.

- Been called to court to present something, if so what? Yes. Results, usually. Sometimes announcements. The most memorable was presenting His Majesty with a My Little Pony (long story short, His Majesty had deposited Himself on Father Christmas's lap and demanded a pony. Never one to disappoint, FC sent one along at 12th Night).

- Been called to court for punishment? No.

- Been part of a court 'shtick?'? Yes.

- Done something while watching court, e.g., spin, sew, embroider, if so what? Yes. I've woven in court a couple times. Also, running back-court.

- Had a royal comment on what you're doing? No.

- Have awards from more than one Kingdom? No.



PENNSIC

- Have you ever gone to Pennsic? Yes.

- Ever done Zero Night? Yes.

- How many Pennsics have you gone to? 1

- Ever Taught a class at Pennsic? No.

- Taken a class at Pennsic? Yes.

- Gone to Opening ceremonies? Yes.

- Been a waterbearer? No.

- Worked a shift at Chirurgeons Point at Pennsic? No.

- Worked a shift as security at Pennsic? No.

- Volunteered in any other capacity? Yes: herald, gate, volunteer point

- Ever merchanted at Pennsic (we'll take shopping as a given)? No.

- Gone to the swimming hole Classic or family? No.

- 'Trolled the Bog for parties?' No.

- Hosted a party at Pennsic? No.

- Been part of a 'Pennsic building project'? No.



TRAVEL IN THE SCA

- Ever traveled more than 8 hours each way for a one day event? Yes.

- Gone to a different Kingdom for an event? Yes.

- Lived in a different Kingdom? No.

- Have trailer hitch and trailer, mainly because of the SCA? No.

- What ridiculous lengths you've gone to get to an event? If some folk at Pennsic are to be believed, I walked/hitched all the way from Los Angeles.



THE MUNDANE OF THE SCA

- Run out of closet space because of garb/gear? Yes.

- Ever crammed more than 4 people into a hotel room? Yes.

- Met your future spouse at an SCA event? Not yet...

- Met most past significant others in an SCA setting? Yes.

- Have better research books than your library? Yes.

- Is your tent bigger than your first apartment? Do dorm rooms count? If so, yes.

- How many sewing machines do you have? Two, if you count the serger which isn't working right now.

- Own an anvil? No.

- Added something to the YKITSCA-When lists? No.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for friends only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 1 comment